Another day, another news, and well… another SEO Poisoning stint. Using PDF files in SEO poisoning is a bit recent, but not exactly fresh news.
See original here:
SEO Poisoning Sites Use Flash for Redirection
A new wave of spammed messages posing as mail service notifications targeted antivirus companies , including Trend Micro . These messages ask the receivers to update their mailbox settings by opening and executing the attachment. The two samples above TrendLabs obtained were sent to domains that belonged to Trend Micro.
Posted by (0) Comment
We’ve been seeing a gradual shift in malicious PDF file coding (no surprise there, we know malware authors can and do adapt their techniques). For a long time, we saw malicious PDF files that were simple enough to allow us to readily decipher the intent of the malicious code — shell code, download/execute, drop and load, et cetera. Now we’re seeing more and more complex obfuscation being used, which requires us to break down the PDF file.
Excerpt from:
Analyzing PDF Files
Posted by (0) Comment
Microsoft took a stab at Waledac bots last April when they added detection to their Malicious Software Removal Tool (MSRT). The MSRT is part of their monthly Microsoft Updates package
See more here:
R.I.P. Waledac?
A new Twitter worm is making the rounds. If you receive a direct message from a “friend” that contains the following message: “This you????” It is likely malicious. Clicking the link, http://twitter.login.{BLOCKED}home.org/login/, will redirect you to a sub page of the said domain
Read the original post:
A New Twitter Worm Is Making the Rounds
Cybercriminals again exploited one of the most-awaited global sports events —the “2010 Vancouver Winter Olympics” —to propagate at least two of their malicious wares. They piggybacked on the Olympics fever to promote malware-ridden sites.
Here is the original post:
Search for “Winter Olympics” and Take Your Pick—FAKEAV or Bogus Windows Media Player Updates
TrendLabs Web content security analysts recently received spammed messages that purported to be from hi5 , “a global destination where young people meet and play.” The site claims to have more than 50 million monthly visitors and to be the third largest social media site in the world. The bogus email asks users to add its sender to their lists of friends just like any normal social networking invitation. What is odd about this email however, is that it first asks recipients to download and open an attachment, which supposedly contains an invitation
See more here:
hi5 Spam Invites Users to Download a Worm
February has already begun, which means Valentine’s Day is close at hand. As usual, spammers will definitely hype up their malicious activities. It is only the first day of the so-called “love month” but we have already seen at least two spam samples leveraging one of the most-celebrated special occasions when people flock to websites that advertise gifts they can give to their loved ones
See more here:
Early Hearts’ Day Presents from Spammers
Trend Micro fraud analysts recently came across spammed messages targeting customers of the Fifth Third Bank. The messages urged recipients to log in to a temporary link, http://www.53.com.{BLOCKED}.com.pl/wpserver/cmportal/cblogin.php?session=667882698791972326077742654898739&email=p2t2all@tacobell.com , in order to download and install a digital certificate that would supposedly reinforce the bank’s security.
Excerpt from:
Phishing in the Guise of Enhancing Security
Trend Micro threat analysts were alerted to the discovery of several compromised websites inserted with a JavaScript.
Visit link:
Malicious JavaScript Infects Websites